65

Traditionally retirement age for many countries and cultures, but in many places no longer.  I'll have to work up to my 67th if I want to enjoy the pension I've been saving.  Of course, I might go back to part-time work before that time, if I think full-time is no longer viable.  Hubby will have to wait one more year, when he turns 66, before he can benefit.  He's now dreaming of scooting off for long weekends with me, in between my work, gallivanting in some foreign city.  It's actually quite a romantic idea. 

First, though, one more year to wait.  However, other industry branches he worked in in the past are now in the process of paying out as well, something which we welcome as we need every help we can get.  A lot of it will be used to pay the bank all the money we borrowed to pay the sollicitors months ago.

We'd already had our celebrations, so it was just a plain weekday for us.  I did greet him, of course, as did two handfuls of Facebook friends.  This was shot upon his return from Monday bridge.  It reminds me of those portraits made about 300 years ago.  What he needs here is a doublet, some hose, a stiff Elizabethan collar, and a fancy sword, and of course we can't forget a hat.

Happy Birthday, darling.  I hope we have many, many more years together.  *loads of hugs*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.