Very Proud Dad

I’m going to use a social media post by my son as today’s Blip, it is more eloquent and explains better what we as his family feel.

“It’s been a long six weeks. I’ve learnt things about myself that I wouldn’t have found out unless I was put in an environment like at Harrogate. Before I arrived at the Army Foundation College I wouldn’t have ever thought that I would meet the 11 personalities that make up 2 section, or the other 44 people within 10 platoon. I never imagined I would stay up into the small hours of the morning methodically preparing the 107 items in my locker to ensure it is of a high enough standard for an inspection a few hours later or that when on a fire and movement lesson a corporal could make me want to go into a water filled ditch for the only reason that it provided good cover and showed selfless commitment to my platoon and the army. I couldn’t imagine I would be able to tab with almost the weight required at the end of 6 months on my back over many miles and still finish coming through the camp gates standing tall, proud and most of all, smiling. If someone told me on the 23rd September that I would do all this I would never have believed it but I have and I would do it all over again to prove that my self, my section, my platoon and even my army are capable of anything”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.