bananablip

By bananablip

The return

This morning, after 3 flights and about 29 hours of travel, I arrived back in Shrewsbury. Cold and wet but still beautifully Autumnal. It's a good sign when, even after a wonderful time away, you feel happy to be back.

The last two weeks have blown me away. It's not that I left for Malaysia with low expectations, more that I left with no expectations. 

It's been two weeks full of contrast; from the bright lights and glitz of Kuala Lumpur to the laid back island feel of Penang, from the beautiful countryside of Ipoh to the stunning mountains and beaches of Sabah. We've met Bishops and Archbishops and we've hung out with indigenous people in their villages. We've eaten eels in restaurants, boiled cassava picked by families and a combination of rice and noodles for every single meal.  We've laughed together, we've cried together and we've rejoiced together. 

It's going to take me a while to process it all. But for now, sleep.

I'll back blip. At some point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.