littleonion

By littleonion

The First Time


We met as autumn danced crisply in dappled light
And winter's cold fingers slowly grasped the teatime air
The first bitter night of the season.

I wore my little black dress
Then added a cardigan, scarf and hat
Vaguely embarrassed as always at dressing up.
Choked with nerves, I spotted you through the café window
Your shaven head bowed and slightly serious
Reading something.
Why did I go up to the glass and knock
As if you were an old friend
And this was just a chance to catch up,
A comfortable moment in two busy lives?
It's too easy to say now
That I felt an instant pull
A calm, unerring connection
A strange sense of relief and knowledge
But perhaps I did.

And as the seasons turn again
These feelings remain
Your bowed head glimpsed through glass
An indelible memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.