Crimson

Your admirers on the street
Got to hoot and stamp their feet
In the heat from your physique
As you twinkle by in mocassin sneakers

I spend most of the day updating a training example. Jon, in Somerset, helps over the wire and we make a lot of progress.

Early afternoon, I wander around the city, settling in the Center City Diner for their all-day breakfast special, pancakes, bacon, poached eggs. There’s a side of potatoes too, but I’ve eaten too much already.

I get to the Miller Symphony Hall in good time - it’s only 5 minutes from my AirBnb - and get shown to my seat. AA3 is the front row, centre, right up by the stage. I get to rest my feet on the sub-woofer. When the band come on, the drummers are less than 20 feet from me and I’m entranced by a clear view of Fripp’s virtuosity. Tony Levin is slightly hidden behind the symbols, but I can hear him just fine. 

It’s a great set, selected from across the back catalog. Of course there’s Court of the Crimson King, 21st Century Schizoid Man, Epitaph, and Moonchild - ancient crowd pleasers. But there’s a tortured version of Neurotica and a sung version of Indiscipline (with Levin on backing vocals). Starless is blistering as a finale, and they don’t let up with an Easy Money encore.

Satisfied, I join the elderly crowd leaving the hall, ignore the merchandise, and return home, past the groupies hanging out in the chill night, dreaming of a furtive glimpse of a departing Fripp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.