Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Goose Teeth

This is beautiful Gloria, who lives at the wildlife rescue centre permanently, and who likes to nibble wellington boots.

I did not know geese had teeth - in actual fact a goose's gob is jam packed full of gnashers, even on its tongue. ( Look large to catch a glimpse of the offending teeth).  I now know that because I confidently stuck my hand out to show Sarah there was nothing to worry about and then had to spend the rest of the morning trying to hide my almost severed finger.  

Ok, so that's an exaggeration, but I won't be sticking my hand out again - my second encounter with a bird this week, and then I had my third when a pheasant hissed at me. 

Gloria likes to wait for her pool of water to be cleared out every morning and then drag as much mud as she can into it for a mud bath. 

More hedgehog adorableness today along with crows, pigeons, doves and the resuscitation of a very cute rat - the people who run the centre are just about the kindest, most compassionate people I have ever met. I was intending to drive onto the moor tops afterwards to grab a Blip but we were  absolutely starving and went to Merrie England for toasted teacakes instead. So Gloria it is. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.