Police presence...

There was an accident in our street at 7 o'clock this morning. No idea what happened but 3 of the emergency services were called out and the street was closed for about an hour. Blissfully quiet while it was closed but there must have been gridlock because already two of the main routes into town are closed; and with this also closed people would have been running out of options. 
The police later announced that the street would close again at 10.30 to allow them to investigate the incident. I read that on Facebook but forgot all about it so when I went off to ring at the Town Church I was surprised to walk right into their investigations. A police officer ushered me into a doorway then a car came down the street like a bat out of hell and slammed its breaks on and skidded to a halt. I assume that speeding was suspected in the incident and they wanted to test stopping distance or something.
My landlord sent a plumber around this morning because I couldn't get the heating to work. The man who came looking at all the controls then admitted he had no idea how it worked but asked whether I'd be happy to set the thermostats and leave it run (or not) for a day or so to see how it went. So I set the bedroom and lounge thermostats. The lounge was already warmer than I wanted the room but the bedroom should have warmed up. 
I went off to ring at lunchtime (which was when I walked into the police investigations) and when I came back a couple of hours later the bedroom temperature hadn't changed but the bathroom was up to 25C. Something definitely wired or plumbed up wrongly there then! Message left for landlord...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.