Klacto Vee Sedstein

My Dear Fellows & Princess Normal,

I am tired today. This is because I was talking to Princess Normal until midnight last night. That's not so bad. But I invariably stay up for at least an hour after we talk, sniggering to myself and trying to remember that thing I'm supposed to tell Er Indoors.

"Troll feet". Why was that so funny again? Nope, it's gone.

So I was worried I might fall asleep at my desk today but fortunately I was busy for a change. No, really. I was.

The reason I've suddenly got things to do was that I hosted The Big Meeting yesterday. It was a good meeting. It seemed to clear out the sluices, unblock the pipes and apply prune juice to the bowels of the business.

I'm going to allow a moment to let that image settle. You're welcome.

It took me 2 weeks to get the stakeholders all into one room at the same time so it was important I got the result I wanted. I have to admit at times I can be quite Machiavellian. I basically didn't say anything in the meeting, but had sent round some meeting notes beforehand which - without saying it out loud - were written to skew them AWAY from The Stupid Thing we are currently working on.

It was great. I got to sit there listening while they came to the conclusion that The Stupid Thing was STUPID. Meanwhile, I said things like:

- "Oh REALLY!"
- "You don't SAY!"
- "Tut! I had NO IDEA!"
- "Fetch my smelling salts child! I'm coming down with THE VAPOURS!"

One lady even apologised to me for not letting me continue to do The Stupid Thing. "Oh don't worry... I expect I'll carry on.... somehow...." I said, my voice cracking with emotion.

So yes, today I've been looking at The Sensible Thing instead. I have felt quite productive and there has been no time for "Desert Island Discs", which is a bit of a shame because Suzi Quatro was up next*.

Instead I listened to New Wave Hits of the 1980's. Including this song . I believe I am the only person in the world who remembers it. For good reason.

The other thing I've been busy with today is Xmas shopping. I have an Xmas project plan all mapped out in my head and I want to get the parcels posted in two weeks. As for us, we will be spending 5 days over the Xmas hols staying at Feefs's house in Papamoa. At least, that was the original plan.

However, I pointed one or two things out to Er Indoors regarding The Plan:

- Shetland Dad is also now staying with Feefs
- Er Indoors nearly killed Shetland Dad to DEATH after 2 days with him in Liverpool
- 5 days is probably longer than 2 days
- So there's that
- I'm just saying

So now we are staying in a Papamoa hotel instead. See? I'm an evil genius. If the Medicis ever want to return to Florence they should totally get in touch.

S.

* So make a stand for your man, honey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.