King Olav

King Olav passed away in his royal logde "Kongsseteren" some few hundred meters away from where the statue of him and his poodle dog "Troll" is today, at the Holmenkollen ski arena in Oslo. He was born January 1903 at the Appelton House, Strumpshaw, Norfolk, Great Britain. He came to Norway with his Danish father and English mother who became King and Queen of Norway 1905. King Olav became king when his father King Haakon died 1957. He was our king until he passed away January 1991. I remember this very well. It is hard to understand how time flies. I also met him in the ski tracks in the woods around the place his statue is. He was skiing among us all. I remember his wooden skis, bamboo ski poles and metal ski bindings. I had the same type. The ski bindings were called "the rat trap". Stopped by the statue today and let the memories come. His son, King Harald became our king 1991. He is the third Norwegian reigning King I have experienced. Time to accept I am not a youngster any more. However, if I had been English I would  have been happy to have had only one Queen.          

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.