Penny's Hospital

I think the Christmas shopping has begun in earnest, if not for me, then everyone else: when the Minx and I went into Preston to meet her mum for lunch, the car park was packed, with cars prowling 'round in search of an elusive space.

But once the Minx had found a space and we'd made our way through the shoppers, we had a lovely lunch, after which I took the train up to Lancaster to meet a friend for a drink. The Borough, over usual venue of choice, was packed, too, so we scooted off to find somewhere a bit quieter.

It was unnerving to come out after an afternoon drink to find it was completely dark as I made my way down to the station. On the way I passed Penny's Hospital, "Almshouses built under the will of William Penny 1720". 

With a couple of notable exceptions, such as Bill Gates, you don't see so much evidence of altruism and philanthropy from the rich, these days, do you?

****
-13.7 kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.