Prinsenbeek

('Prin-sen-BAKE')

Left work early enough to have time for a wee spin around the neighbouring hamlet of Prinsenbeek, across the A16 from Breda and actually part of the municipality of Breda.  Prinsenbeek has always been a tad more afluent than the surrounding areas, something like a chic little village where people working in Breda preferred to live, if they could afford it.  Just drove about a bit and looked for the odd horse farm or field of grain or a cozy clump of trees.

Again, only one class today and caught up with a lot of other small items, and decided that one minute or two more at my desk wouldn't have made any difference.  There was quite a lively discussion in my little room, though, as some negative feedback has been circulating among the students, negative enough to give us an indication of the evaluations later in the year in connection with the school's application for accreditation next year.  These are things which should be brought to the attention of management, who, we all agreed, aren't managing well enough and who've left a lot of work to be done by the teachers without their checking on it.  I'll stop now before I get into a real regular rant, but suffice it to say that I did update my CV and job application letter this evening, plus scouted around for vacancies, and, in fact, found one right here close to home.  The accreditation at work will not take place till next schoolyear and, if we don't make it, we'll be given a year to improve things, and then the proverbial 'we'll see' waiting bit, but am not exactly confident about the possible outcome the way things are looking at the moment.  I still have 11 years to go and I do not want to be caught by surprise.  That said ... what are the chances of a 56-year-old still finding suitable work elsewhere?  I did look at the salary scale advertised at the other place, though, and I must say that my eyebrows rose for about 5 seconds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.