Petty Cury.

A pedestrianised  shopping area in Cambridge, once an interesting street of various individual shops. Recorded in the early 14th C as Bakers St as it was lined with baker's stalls. Although many of the medieval alleyways, inns and yards had gone by the mid-sixties, the Petty Cury / Lion Yard area was thriving. In particular, Alexandra St and  Falcon Yard, There were clubs (live music, trad jazz,) boutiques and cafes, such as the Waffle, Eros, Henekeys, Civic restaurant, Lyons and one Chinese. There was also the Y.M.C.A, the first place to show "talking" pictures with performers talking behind the screen. ( before my time !! ) The redevelopment was opposed by the university who suggested another area  but the council won. Now there is a multi-storey car park and the same shops you can see in any town. I was lucky enough to grow up before everything went. So I suppose I'm a bit nostalgic for the carefree days of my youth !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.