Morning Rainbow

I woke to sunshine and showers and this beauty! Mad dash downstairs for the camera, attic window thrown open and blip ndone before my morning coffee! 
Rainbows make me think of my mum as there were lots around after she died. Rainbows symbolise promise in many myths and cultures - along with creation , transformation, ascension to name a few more! I like symbolism, I may not go along with the belief that goes with them - but sometimes things seem to assume symbolic proportions. Maybe with rainbows their beauty and sense of something magical leads us to seek something other than just a scientific explanation for their occurance. So rainbows comfort me - like some message from beyond.  Aren't  beliefs there to comfort and explain the unexplainable - after all life itself, existence, is the ultimate unexplainable thing! 
I'm liking the fact the shadows of my chimneys can be seen on my neighbours chimneys! I have a thing for chimneys, the more ornate the better! I don't understand why there are 8 however - by my calculations there are 4 rooms which would once have had fireplaces - only my front room has a fireplace now. The one in the kitchen is bricked up, as is the one above my front room, but it still has an ornate tiled hearth. The one in my upstairs back bedroom has the alcove but nothing else. I had always presumed that 4 were mine and 4 were my neighbours, it being an Edwardian terrace. But how come my neighbour has 8 and it is the end of terrace house? Originally our terrace was to be linked with the terrace further up - but the houses were never built, ran out of money  I think! Thats why there are a motley collection of houses between the two terraces! So maybe the other 4 were put in for the house that was never built? 
Today whilst looking for something else I finally found something that I had looked for but not found the previous day. Funny how that often happens! It was a Mindfulness  book Friend had given me for my birthday - I forget whether this was before or after she was diagnosed. On opening it I found a note from her that I had forgotten about. It said " You may not need this now - but one day you will pick this up and think  " The time is now! " How right she was.  It made me smile and cry but all good - healing tears. Nearly a year on and I am only really now recognising and acknowledging how much I miss her and how much she meant to me. Grief is one strange emotion - but then aren't  all emotions complex? Life and death - both inexplicable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.