But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Glencoe (again).

The weather was bucketing down when I woke up so I decided to cancel my planned visits to some of the more photogenic sites on Skye; however, an hour later as I prepared to leave, the sky was much brighter so I put The Quiraing back on the itinerary. Having parked up, put on both my waterproofs and the camera’s, I set out on the short walk. I had not gone but twenty paces when the heavens abruptly opened and I hurried back to the car; having had three very tiring days and with a long drive home ahead of me, I wasn’t in the mood for that sort of thing. By the time I’d covered ten miles and checked out the Kilt Rock (I can see it having no photographic value without a trustworthy drone) the rain and hail had turned to snow and the roads were getting slippy. It was time to leave.
 
The journey home turned out to be uneventful and the road that caused the problems a few days ago was quite innocuous; by the time I had reached Fort William the sun was shining and I had time to stop at the top of Glencoe, near to Friday’s Blip, and take today’s. Two minutes with the hand held compact produced what was, arguably, the best picture of the week-end.
 
I’ll be back in July for the trip to St Kilda and will plan a couple of days to catch up on unfinished business.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.