Lenore

By Lenore

Running

With the husband away for the weekend, it's hard to get exercise (there's the rowing machine in the evening, but it's quite amazing the excuses that come into my head and what I suddenly find I have to do...)

I've been wanting to do a Park run for ages, and frankly, I have absolutely no idea at all why I've waited so long.  It would have been perfect, so I'm a little annoyed that I've procrastinated about going.  I got everything ready last night and had that little hint of excitement, which translated into stress this morning and one of the boys being told off for not eating his breakfast.  He was always going to eat it, he was just going at his pace, not mine (sorry young man).  

Anyway, I got us up there, had some slightly strange looks as I was the only one running with a push chair, let alone a double.  I immediately classed all those running with a dog pulling them along as cheats (read, secretly envious).  We didn't get a great time, and were firmly towards the back of the field, but I reckon 5km, off-road, pushing about 30kg is not too shabby.  The boys took the whole thing in their stride.  I felt a little bit proud when the chap who came in first commented about it being hard work, he probably didn't realise that along with the pushing, you also have to give a commentary to a 2.5 year old who is point out everything as you go along.  

I found a café with an indoor play-area for the boys, which was in the house in the background, so the boys also had a great morning running around and burning off lots of energy.  

Anyway, we'll be back for some more of that one - and watch out husband, I'll be taking you with me as well.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.