ramblingrose

By ramblingrose

BARRY'S CLOWN

Hi there to all my dear blip friends. I hope you have all had a good day.
This afternoon while I was in Barry's Man cave, I was looking at the Clown Figurine that he has on his shelf. I have always liked it, as it was a colourful thing. However, it had accumulated dirt etc in the crevices, and didn't look at it's best. Barry said he has had it for 27 years, and has never thought of giving it a clean. No wonder the poor thing was dirty!! I decided that I would try and give it a clean, very gently though, as I didn't want to take off any of the paint. I used a little bit of washing up liquid, and a toothbrush. After I had finished, I was so pleased. I could actually see that lovely face, and all the details etc. The Clown is a Melody in Motion Waco Figure made in the 1980's, I believe. However, Barry said that it hasn't worked for over 20 years. It is supposed to whistle and move it's head at the same time. I thought it was such a shame! While Barry was upstairs ( He didn't even know that I was cleaning it!) I decided to see if I could fix it! I tried several new batteries...to no avail! In the end, I had a look at the on/off switch. This too, was very dirty. I gave it a good clean with a tiny brush that I had. I then moved the head a bit. I wouldn't normally do this, but nothing ventured, nothing gained! At least it was clean! But wait for it Folks!!!
It now works. It is happily whistling " Around The World In 80 Days" and moving it's head at the same time!! You can just imagine how delighted and pleased I was!!
I called Barry downstairs and showed him the nice clean Clown.He was so grateful...then I told him to listen! I turned the switch on, and Barry's face was a picture! Total amazement and astonishment! He was over the moon!! He said that I can now look after his Clown, as I have given it such loving, tender care. It is now downstairs in the living room. I swear that I can see a smile on that Clown's face. It definitely looks happier!!!
It has been a long write up, but I thought you would like to hear the story.
Thank you for following me. Take care.
Love Theresa x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.