Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

The President's Wife

It was in that role that I presented myself at our local town hall (my blip pic) this morning to ask about abour our pending request to close our passageway. I even had a letter signed by the President giving me authorization as Bb himself couldn't get there today. I thought I was doing well in getting there early, only to find that they only take enquiries from 12-2pm. The best laid plans and all that.

I then headed off up the road to the top floor of El Corte Ingles (huge Spanish department store), which has a Post Office and I was posting off our Norwegian godchild's Christmas present. Looooong queues, but 30 mins later and I'm third in the queue and then it stops moving. The computers are down! I look at my watch, wondering how long the workmen in our house are going to be there as I need to get back to pay them. I also need to get back to the town hall and wanted to be first. I snuck forward to one of the counters and asked the señora if I could leave my package and some money for the postage....bingo!

I had to get a taxi home to pay Carlos and his brother as he would be leaving in 10'. All the little jobs seemed to be done, apart from our doorbell. The problem is that we can't find the box where the sound comes from!! The bell has stopped working and the problem isn't in the buzzer at the door. Mmm.

Back to the town hall and another queue. Eventually it's my turn and I didn't need to present my 'president's wife' authorization letter. However, even though they said to Bb they'd have an answer by today, they didn't. Surprise surprise. We now have an actual appointment for next week though. Fingers crossed as we have a street meeting next Thursday and everyone will be asking about it. Mind you, the building work at the end of the street might provide a good distractor.

Some emails in the afternoon and home made pumkin and lentil soup making, followed by a couple of hours of ironing.

At the end of the day we realised that Carlos hadn't followed my instructions for reconnecting the bathroom heated mirrors to the light switch, but had just disconnected them altogether......long story, ask Bb! Perhaps I wasn't clear enough. Perhaps it was my Spansh. Anyway, he's coming back next week to do the bell and will fix them then. He's starting to feel like family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.