Platypus

By Platypus

Platypus

I spent happy hours following this platypus up and down a tiny stream in northern Tasmania on holiday about a year ago. 
An amazing experience, looking for the bubbles to track it, feeding, diving and leaving the water to climb on the bank.  It was in virtual touching distance.

I’ve added an ‘extra’, of another platypus - a smaller, brown one in Queensland, which I didn’t get anywhere as close to. 
Tried to add some very close up video footage of the one in Tasmania, but just realised I can't add that on Blipfoto.  Clue is in 'foto'!!   Shame!   But if anyone is interested to see it - just let me have your email!!

I also managed to see the other monotreme (an egg laying mammal) in the wild - an echidna – but the platypus was by far the most watchable!! 

Platypuses are now not under threat of extinction, but don’t seem to fare well in zoos outside of Australia.
They are viewable in tanks at a few sanctuaries in Oz, including one near Brisbane, but they don’t seem to behave quite the same as in the wild.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.