Swimmers' Log Book

By BVD

And she’s home!!!

My baby’s back for a month! So good to see her- we hugged for ages!

Had a good day at school today, with an amazing RE lesson. (Never thought I’d be saying that.) My student was in charge, but we had asked our lovely afternoon teaching assistant to talk to the class about her religion (Islam). She brought in a Qu’ran and had asked one of my girls to bring in her prayer mat and headscarf to demonstrate prayer and then read from the Qu’ran in Arabic. The rest were fascinated, listened beautifully and asked thoughtful questions. I then moved them on and encouraged our Christians to compare their religion to Islam- mostly coming up with similarities. I felt quite emotional; there was such an amazing atmosphere in the room- complete respect and genuine interest.
At one point I looked for the copy of the Bible that I’d recently added to our bookcase. It was in the tray of one of my Muslim boys, who said he has been reading it to see what it was about and whether it was similar to the Qu’ran. Love him.
I learnt a few things too, including that the nativity story is told in the Qur’an.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.