Kirkbarrow Lane/T'Crack

I left my running shoes at the Minx's. It's not the first time it's happened and I wondered if maybe I should buy a second pair to keep at home. However, it turns out that Nike stopped making my recently bought and much loved Free 5.0s a couple of years ago, which meant that a hasty Amazon purchase was not the solution. And that's a good thing.

So, I decided to walk into town and visit Pete Bland Sports, which proved fruitless, as it happened, but as I was walking in I spotted a little gap in a wall with a plaque next to it. Intrigued, I crossed the road and took a look. 

"The very narrow entrance to Kirkbarrow Lane from Kirkland is called T'Crack. The lane is an ancient pathway to the Anchorite Well, Kendal's earliest religious site, and to the old burial ground on Kirkbarrow. Kirkbarrow House (now demolished) stood in this lane. It was the home at one time of Cornelius Nicholson (1804 - 1889), historian and writer of the "Annals of Kendal" and mayor of Kendal in 1848."  

Two things struck me: firstly, how have I lived or worked here for twenty-six years and never noticed this, and, secondly, that's a pretty short tenure as mayor. 

****
-13.9 kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.