Collecting Moments

By AudreyJ

Sad Day

We said our final goodbye to my stepdad today. He passed away in the early hours of the 17th November in his bed at the Nursing Home where he’d lived for 2 years. My Mum and I were with him at the time. I have never watched anyone die and it was traumatic, don’t think I will ever forget those hours before.

He was diagnosed with Parkinson’s and Dementia and there was a rapid decline thereafter. Fortunately he wasn’t aware of being in a Nursing Home and thought he was in a hotel away working. The staff were always lovely and loved him, he had the best care possible.

It’s an awful disease to see someone develop and endure, others suffer a longer battle so I suppose that is something to be grateful for, and I’m sure he’s now better off although it might not seem that way at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.