twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

What should have been my last office day before Xmas; but AOB phoned in sick for the rest of the year and I copped for Monday. And then a team meeting booked for Wednesday morning. Nothing like having your morale sapped even more by moving the finish line even further away....

A day of little consequence at work; we dived out at lunch to withdraw savings stashed quietly for Christmas and then were back for more banality and headphones in / heid down.

Out around 6 to hers; I cooked fish and a hashy potato / courgette kinda thing; parsley sauce but under pressure. Not the easiest of nights. Largely it passed without major incident but more low level antagonistic nonsense and finally I left. 

All was well until Wardie Road when - I knew it was slippy, but - the wheels disappeared from beneath me and me and the bike slid serenely along the street at a gentle pace, me on my backside, the bike on top of me. The blip is just before I got up, did a Buster Keaton meets Norman Wisdom comic slithering / runnong thing and ended up back on the tarmac. I walked to the the nearest bus route and clanked homewards; the front derailuer slightly bent but mostly unscathed. Twice in a week... tch. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.