A Blue Christmas

Dear Diary,

Cue Elvis Presley!  I am feeling a tiny bit better this morning and it is a good thing since I have to drive to Portland to for the follow up with the surgeon.  Not looking forward to the hour drive but there is nothing to be done about it so off I'll go.

This little salt glazed Santa was given to me years ago and he lives in a cupboard in the upstairs bathroom all year.  It is the only room with blue in it except my porch which I don't use in the winter so he happily sits on the window sill with the cobalt glass.  Collecting colored glass was so popular back in the 50's and 60's here in New England.  The Sandwich Glass Factory was a major source of beautiful pressed glass in all colors until it closed in the 1920's.  My friends mother had an amazing collection and you can still visit the museum of glass on Cape Cod. I've always put a bit of colored glass in the windows.  I like how the sunlight plays with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.