Today's Special

By Connections

Christmas Cheer

Whatcom Museum has two buildings, one of which is the old Bellingham City Hall, built in 1892 -- one of the oldest buildings in town. I love going there at this time of year, as there is always a wonderful display of festively decorated Christmas trees, and the usual admission fee is waived -- a lovely gift for the community.

I realize that my blip for today is not of a Christmas tree, but I couldn't resist the reflection in the mirror of this elegant dresser, which caught my eye as I climbed the wide staircase to see the trees on the second floor. I like the seasonal decorations and the beautiful carving on the dresser.

In the extras you'll see a few of the trees on the main floor, with a close-up of some of the decorations on the left-hand tree, which had the theme of "Merry Cubism!" Fourth-grade students (ages 9-10) from Everson Elementary School created the artistic ornaments.

Thanks very much for all the lovely comments on "Saints and Connections" -- I very much appreciate them! And once again, my apologies for being so far behind on your journals. My last holiday cards go out tomorrow... 

Blip 1898

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.