The Things You See

Dear Diary,

Not the best picture, since I had to shoot through the porch screen, but I just had to record this unique sight.  Wild turkeys in the apple tree!  A flock of about 30 of them came into the yard.  These two flew up into the tree and began to dislodge some of the remaining apples.  The ones below would peck at them for a tasty treat! 

Actually, I kind of like the strange effect the screen gave the image.  It reminded me of the different things we use to do with our cameras in art school.  This has a "Vaseline" look to it.  We would smear it on the clear filter over the lens.  We also used nylon stockings stretched over the lens for a soft focus look.  This was in the mid-1970's, way before Photoshop.  Heck, we didn't even have computers!

I love the digital evolution of the photographic medium.  It was opened up so many avenues for creative work but this shot shows that sometimes you can just get lucky with what you have and I'll take that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.