A Distant Keely

 

A rare outing today for a distant Keely Lang.

Whilst walking around the circuit I don’t know why this came into my mind.  But it would be mad not to share.  Warning - mind numbing pap to follow.  In my callow youth I worked in a fish factory in Lerwick.  The nascent oil industry had just arrived at Sullom Voe.  Many fisher folk were getting lured away by big wages.  However I continued at the Fish Factory and was trained up to be a fish filleter.  I made tremendous money.  At the end of the shift me and my pal would walk back into Lerwick tired but rich.  Every day.  The long shifts were interspersed with a tea break in the Bothy.  After having mauled giant Dogfish, cod etc into submission I thought the tea hut would be a chance to catch up on some light banter about Proust or Albert Camus or how the phone was invented in Yell.  Never a bit.  This is what had to be done.  Everyone (about 18 folk) got a big mug of tea and squeezed into the benches around the table. The mugs were set on the table.  Everyone then got out their ‘biscuit of choice’; Golf, Orange Club, Penguin (insert other mid 1970s biscuits here) or a Tunnocks Tea Cake (NSAB*).  After removing the wrappers and rolling them up we took it in turns to try and flick them into the furthest away mug.  This is still mentioned on my CV.

After dancing the Swedish Masquerade last night, and just having been a walk with the Current Mrs Creel, I have been given a list of tasks.

Moscow.

*Not Strictly a Biscuit

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.