Boxing Day Blues

My Dear Fellows and Dear Princess,

This is the view from out the back of our room at the Papamoa Beach House Motel at 5am this morning.

Why was I up early this morning? Because I am all of a sudden rotten with COLD. ROTTEN.

I snuffled and hacked and shook all night. I slept badly because I didn't want to wake Er Indoors. And when I finally did get to sleep I then awoke in a panic because I was supposed to call my family this morning.

Still, it was totally worth it. They were so funny and happy and nice. They were right in the middle of Xmas dinner and full of the joys of the season. I felt quite sad afterward because I miss them. But yes. So worth it.

I sent all the girls a greenstone infinity pendant for Xmas this year (Fat Pete, they are exactly the same as the one I got for E.) The infinity symbol is a long curved, twisted design, and it symbolises bonds that cannot be broken.

"We thought it was a SNAKE," said Lovely Niece #2. "That makes a lot more sense now that you explain it."

My dad got a possum-wool hat, gloves and a scarf. I spoke to him next. He explained that the reason we hadn't heard from him recently is because he dropped his phone in the toilet. He went to great pains to tell us that there were no wees in there at the time. Consequently he'd lost all his contacts and the bonds between us were BROKEN.

Trust my dad's khazi to make a MOCKERY of Maori tradition.

So my spirits were lifted, but apart from that it has been a rubbish day. We had planned to spend it with friends and family, but instead Er Indoors has gone off to do it on her own. I've sat drinking tea after tea after tea and downing Panadol and feeling very sorry for myself.

Still, it's a pretty image from this morning isn't it? Now if you'll excuse me I'm going to sneeze so hard it squeezes out a fart at the same time (again).

I'm all about the glamour, me.

S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.