Beewriter

By Beewriter

Happy Happy Christmas!

I had told my sister that I wasn't go to be able to drive down to Oxford as the journey is a bit too long for my bad knee....but last night I thought 'sod it, I'm not missing out'. I decided to just turn up. I had called Rachel to try and find out her plans for the day without letting on what I intended and as she and the boys were going to head over to my brother's in the morning I would have to leave really early. So...........

I got up and managed to leave the house just after seven. I had the M6 to myself, I shared the M40 and M42 with a handful of people and so I was in Oxford in record time. I knocked on the door and then crossed my fingers they hadn't left the house. Rachel opened the door and her face was a picture!! Oh, it was the best moment ever ever ever!

The day was brilliant. It was the best Christmas. Josh and Tom were back from their first terms at uni....they are no longer boys, they are men. Handsome, wonderful men....it was fabulous to be with them. 

We went off to see Gi and Carol and my latest niece. Alena is fourteen months old and walking and it was great to meet her at last. Harry was totally absorbed in his Star Wars Lego, Cara was looking lovely with her hair chalk coloured locks and Hollie was just wonderful with her questions and her 'two teeth missing' smiles. It was a mad house full of excited children, two  six foot four nephews, my sister who was so pleased to see me that she couldn't stop grinning and my brother and Carol, who were shocked to see me turn up....fabulous!

We then went back to Rach's where she cooked an amazing Christmas lunch. We played silly games, we ate until we nearly popped, we had a few drinks, we played more games and we slobbed in front of the TV....it couldn't have been a better Christmas. 

And.....I took Rachel's birthday present. I had fifty presents for her to open that celebrated her half century and evoked memories....she loved it. 

It was a brilliant day and I think that Rachel's huge Cheshire Cat grin here just says it all :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.