Wellington Bound

My Dear Fellows & Dear Princess,

So yesterday was rubbish, but I still felt very well loved. I got messages and get-wells all day. And Feefs was lovely. Knowing that Er Indoors was busy catching up with people she stopped by to drop off some supplies (which no-one had asked her to do).

The supplies included a thing that looked like a lip balm but which was actually a eucalyptus inhaler that you shove up your nostril and sniff

JESUSEFFINGEFF!!!

It nearly took the top of my head off and made me sneeze even more, but it's the thought that counts.

However, I woke up feeling a lot better today, so maybe it did do me good after all. This does not mean I am back to normal though. I'm at that glamour stage of a cold where everything tastes of YUCK and I have to make a ssssNOORK noise every five minutes.

Oh, I'm a pleasure to be around all right.

Also, I have developed a Mutley laugh that turns into a full-on hacking fit when something amuses me. I know this for a fact because Feefs messaged me to ask how I liked the "nose tampon" she dropped in yesterday and I nearly DIED.

But that was okay. Today was a low-action day anyway. We had lunch with J-Bar and sat about chatting. She got out some of Er Indoors's old school reports and we laughed about what a nerd she was. I had no idea! I thought she was one of the cool rebellious kids!

OUR MARRIAGE IS BASED ON LIES

So that was good fun. Then Feefs arrived and took us to the airport. It was a drag I wasn't allowed to hug anyone all day but it was forbidden. They all love me very much and all that but - eeeyew - LURGY. So I waved at them and then we got on the plane back to Wellington.

We got home just before seven and the cats went BONKERS. Our new cat lady in Wellington had taken very good care of them - she had even left notes on everything that happened every day - a kitty-diary if you will. But it was clear they had missed us and they came prancing about, making a fuss. I must admit, I missed them too. I didn't prance though.

Then we engaged in a regular-ish Christmas tradition of watching "The Godfather" over dinner. I have a 10 hour fan-edit version that takes EVERY SINGLE PIECE of Godfather footage ever* and puts it in chronological order. Yes, it is nerdy, but we love it.

The Godfather thing actually dates right back to 1999, my first ever Xmas with Er Indoors. She had told me it was her favourite film, so I bought her the trilogy (on VHS). In a mischievous mood, I then put the tapes in the box for a steam-iron I had just bought myself and wrapped that. She opened it on Christmas morning (having just moved in) and I told her I'd bought it for her special so she could iron all my shirts.

I thought I was going to DIE. Seriously. Be MURDERED by her. That was the last time I ever attempted a joke like THAT.

Ahem. So it was tempting to stay up to 5am but no - we stopped where Michael goes back to Sicily. We'll pick it up from there tomorrow.

S.

* There are loads of versions - DVD, Blu-Ray, Laserdisc, VHS and Betamax - they were all subtly different. There was even a version Francis Ford Coppola put out as a tv mini-series which this bloke taped off the telly. This guy then re-edited it all back together including the music on the soundtrack, so you get every single bit of footage ever put out there. It looks a bit weird when it jumps from high-definition Blu-Ray quality to crappy old videotape and back, but mostly it is AMAZING.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.