CharlottesWorldWideWeb

By CharlotteJ

Christmas Sunrise

BACK BLIP

I was wide awake at 3am....not because I was excited about Christmas but because I was incredibly sad about it being the first Christmas without my beautiful mum.  Even though I have been away at Christmas for many years, we always spoke Christmas Eve and we always spoke Christmas Day and of course there were about 100 text messages in between.  I was also feeling sad for my sister as this is the first year in a very long time that she hasn't had Mum or Dad at hers for the big day.   Tears flowed easily.

I was very grateful for Karen (Life In Brighton) keeping me company via messenger and making me laugh.

I did nod off about 4am but at 6:20 I was up and watched the sunrise.  I will admit I cried buckets.  Somehow though, it was what I needed and I enjoyed being alone with my thoughts and my tears.

The day was spent relaxing and playing cards.  with a 90% humidity, we didn't do much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.