IndigoDaze

By Indigo76

Feeling motivated

Until October even after 1 minute on a treadmill I’d be ridiculously out of breath. I’ve never been a runner, could never do it and never fancied doing it.
I’ve enjoyed other sports and have always been active, but running, nope thanks.
Gym sessions, classes & swimming, yep. Running, nope.
However when we lost our fur baby last year I realised I was becoming a little bit lazy on the getting out & walking front, and having heard at my local gym that a young man in his mid 80’s was out planking and out running people even less than a quarter of his age, i thought, you know what, ‘get motivated woman!’
So I set myself a personal challenge that in the coming six months I’d ‘learn’ to run.
Six months may sound a long time (especially to any pro runners out there, laughable I imagine, but I had to be realistic for me!)
The first minute on the treadmill, embarrassingly out of breath.
The first five, I’ll never be able to do more than five.
The first 10, oh really I’ve run for 10 minutes?
The first time outside, oh my gosh but people can see me!
So I’ve built up gradually a week at a time and on Boxing Day I managed to cover 5k outside.
The time, well let’s just say no records were set :-) but the feeling on a personal level..... yeeeeeeeees!!!!!
Now I have to work on keeping going (there were lots of little power walks in between uphills in particular), and try to actually run non stop.
Oddly, once I’m out, I’ve realised I’m actually enjoying myself (in a weird sort of way)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.