The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The remains of Arundel Mill race

We are still a little icy up in the corner of our estate, but where the sun is shining the thaw is beginning. I walked down to Waitrose along the main road and back via the canal. In the sunshine, I felt incredibly happy to be outside. In the shade, I worried about losing my footing.

By Arundel mill (as was) I remembered a picnic with Tanya and Immy, and strawberries from the farmers market. I think Immy got stung by nettles, but otherwise it was a beautiful day. The year was 2009, and Christina had just started at Central and St Martins in London. Now Immy, being eight years younger than her sister, us shortly to take up a place at art school in Dunedin, South Island, NZ ( if she accepts it)! I went to the other Dunedin, the University of Edinburgh, in another century. Since 2009, Tanya has graduated in creative and commercial writing. Arundel millpond has become a reed bed. I don't think I'd take anyone there for a picnic now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.