LightWave

By LightWave

Dark-eyed Junco

I'm learning how to do bird photography. First, I tried sticking my camera out of our upstairs window, pointing it at our big Norway pine where the birds like to hang out. This has the advantage that I can steady the lens on the window ledge, but the disadvantage that the pine is still rather far away for the smaller birds. In addition, as soon as the day warms up, all sorts of flying insects (notably Halloween beetles and wasps) are determined to get in. The Halloween beetles (more on these later) ultimately proved too troublesome, so I hatched plan B.

There are some bushy wildflowers (or what's left of them) close to the base of the pine, so I sprinkled some birdseed on the ground, and sat quietly behind the plants. This was much more successful. So long as I didn't move quickly, the birds didn't seem to care that I was there. Only problem was hand-holding my camera with the monster lens attached - especially when a good opportunity arose and I got excited! Also, my arms got tired :)

Lots of chickadees, nuthatches, juncos, white-throated sparrows and downy woodpeckers. Quite a few small perching birds that I managed to shoot, but I can't identify yet (will have to get help). Was delighted when the bluebird paid us a visit - he sat on the bluebird house, which is now positioned about 8 feet from where it used to be. And this morning there was a red-bellied woodpecker - first time I've ever seen one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.