party animals

Eve is still really unwell so NYE plans are partially cancelled. Zeke and I went to our friends’ house early doors as they were hosting a little shindig for the children ahead of a posh dinner party this evening. We took an ice cream cake for the children’s pudding which went down gratifyingly well and homemade profiteroles (see extra) for the adults to hopefully enjoy later. Zeke was delighted to be out of the house and in the company of healthy happy children. When we left he exclaimed in delight “we were party animals Mummy!”

Antony has gone up to share dinner with the friends and has instructions to provide updates on each of the five courses so I can imagine I’m joining in (though I’m actually quite happy with cheese on toast having indulged in the children’s ice cream cake). I’m hanging out in Eve’s room at the mo, praying she manages a night without further sickness. She looks so tiny and fragile but it’s amazing what rest can do.... and what God can teach me when I feel at my most empty and wrung out. I feel grateful to start the new year knowing that we can’t do the next adventures without the Almighty by our side..... and better still, that He is indeed right there by our sides.

May all our blip friends have a 2018 filled with hope and love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.