Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

A walk, just for one.

Nothing seems to unnerve Joe Bloggs and Mrs Joe Bloggs more than a single woman out for a walk at a venue where it is tradition that couples and families go.

It's just so.....unnatural.

It is my custom to go for a walk on a Sunday and either have a picnic or a pot of tea at the tearoom of my chosen venue.

Today was no exception. I couldn't tempt Claire to join me and Mr G is in Scotland, so there was nothing else for it.

Well, here I am at Sherborne Castle and Gardens on a beautiful autumnal day and the first encounter is with the gatekeeper. He's taking my fiver for entry to the grounds and then looking in the car. "only one?"

Gotcha! first victim. Left him confused.

Then there was the hour stroll around the lake, woodland and remains of the old castle.

Couples kept glancing behind them at the solitary walker. At all the natural beauty points, you stop and take in the surrounding.

Not my fellow patrons, they scurried away as soon as I stopped. And just try to catch an eye to smile and say hello... not a chance!

Bet they thought they were safe at the tearoom!

Nope, I followed them there.

Slice of cake and pot of tea for me
"Just for one?"

"yip"

Sat at my table for four in the sunshine in the garden and fed a mooching duck.

Bliss.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.