Daily (?) journal

By Chaffinch

Not quite 100

This violin fiddle was made by my great-Grandfather. Inside it I can just make out his name (William Wallace) and Kilmarnock December 1916. He spent his working life as a coal/iron miner in Ayrshire and made fiddles such as this and the one he is holding in the photo - particularly once he had retired. That photo was emailed to me by a second-cousin in Victoria BC after we met him and spent a very pleasant day with him and his wife in the summer. The other, more formal, photo of William and his wife Janet nee Dunlop is from my late Dad (as was the fiddle). One story from my Dad was that his Uncles (and, possibly, their cousins) had, when they were younger, formed a fiddle group called "Wallace's Beardless Band".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.