Winter Gardening

For the last few years I've been improving on my yard/garden just a little bit at a time - and learning from successes and failures along the way.  But this year I have BIG plans to make BIG changes. 

First thing I have realized is, you can't wait til Spring has sprung to get out there - so I'm winter gardening - planning, trimming, mulching.  
I had started on this long bed earlier in the week (when the weather was quite nice), and finally got my hands on a box of newspapers and some bags of mulch so I could finish it off...however, the weather today was NOT nice - cold, windy, cold (did I mention it was cold?!).  Undeterred, I laid newspaper in the wind (that was fun) and mulched about 3/4 of this bed - then spent the rest of the day trying to warm up :0/
It was worth the freezing - I'm very pleased with how it looks, and hoping (fingers and toes crossed), that my newspaper-mulch combo is going to vanquish the evil crab grass which is my garden nemesis.

The strange arrangement of bricks and sticks on the grassy area is my new Potager garden layout - I've been walking down the imaginary paths for a few weeks to test it out and see if it will work before I start building them...some adjustments are necessary so I'm glad I laid it out like this.  It's going to be a big job so I want to make sure I'm happy with it before I start making paths and such.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.