madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Scan

Went for my liver ultrasound today. Vegan Jo was going to drive but her car broke down so I did. Well, halfway there - by the time we reached the moors my anxiety was at the point I did not feel safe driving so we swopped over.
The scan was interesting - a young female trainee with an older mentor. The pressure of the scan made my tummy grumble, the woman said she could tell by the clear picture that I had not eaten and was delighted at the clarity. So much nicer when the patient was thin like me she said! The part where I had to lay on my side was fun - it made me ticklish and I could not stop laughing and my right leg was shaking like a dog's back leg! Vegan Jo said she wished she could have videoed it!
The stressful part was being told to hold my breath on the inhale or exhale. I had been saying to Vegan Jo how the meditation audios I had been doing stressed me with their guidance to breathe slow and deeply. She could see I was getting stressed - not helped by the fact the woman did not always tell me when I could breathe again - in fact at one point she told me to stop breathing! She was going to say something but didn't know how else the woman could phrase how to hold my breath!
The man told me all looked fine - as expected, but there is always that niggling doubt that maybe something bad will show up. Vegan Jo said the pictures were brilliant, especially of the kidneys! Shame I couldn't see them as the screen was behind me. 
The Building where I had this done was very new and swish - some photographer from London had been commissioned to do the artwork - he did a good job! We both loved the toilet signs! 
Pleased that is the final part of my tests with the Dr - everything that is wrong with me has its roots in my mind and my emotions. Good job I had arranged to see a counselor earlier in the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.