MONO MONDAY - WELL SOMEONE HAD TO DO IT!

Four Candles or Fork ‘andles - you choose!

Today is the fourth anniversary of Mono Monday and as soon as I heard the theme was the word “Four” I thought of the Two Ronnies sketch - Four Candles.  I know I mentioned this Youtube video on the Fourth Sunday of Advent, but it is so funny, and makes me laugh every time I watch it - as it did today - and it bears watching again so do enjoy it. 

We talked about the challenge last week, so Mr. HCB went out into the garage to look for some fork handles and I found some small tea light candles to use.  

When I mentioned the theme to John, my friend Gill’s husband, in Church yesterday and told him what we/I had planned, he suggested turning a fork upside down and spearing the tea lights on top, instead of using blue tak - what a great idea and it worked well.

We had intended doing my Blip first this this morning, but as it was pouring with rain, we decided to leave it until a bit later.  Gill came round for our second session and we looked at the chapter in the “A Year With My Camera” book about shutter speed, and I must admit, we both struggled a bit, so decided we would come back to it.  We did tell Mr. HCB that we needed someone to run up and down the road, so we could try out various shutter speeds, but he declined, saying he wouldn’t be able to run fast enough!

After Gill left, the sun came out, but only briefly, so we ended up in our sideway, because Mr. HCB said that with the wind and rain, the candles would never stay lit.  As he was making holes in the tea lights to put them onto the upturned fork, I did say that it was a good job the neighbours couldn’t see us - or they would think we had gone completely loopy!

Both the fork ‘andles on each side are on forks that belonged to Mr. HCB’s father so are probably well over 80 years old - in fact, one even has woodworm in the handle - and the tines on which the tea lights are placed, and it was fortunate there were four, belong to a fork which was a wedding present so this one is almost 50 years old - they made things to last in our day!

Thanks to all those who have hosted Mono Monday in the four years it has been running and to Skeena, who is hosting the present series.

The body heals with play,
     the mind heals with laughter,
          and the spirit heals with joy.
Proberb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.