Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Winter

I am trying to think of a convoluted link to the Wide Wednesday theme of travel - best I can do is that this snow has caused travel chaos in Huddersfield in the last 24 hours; it snowed very heavily yesterday tea time causing havoc, the whole town was gridlocked. People took 3 or 4 hours getting from Leeds to Manchester - fortunately David managed to get back from Pontefract in the relatively quick time of 2.5 hours. 

There are dire predictions for travel this evening too, let's hope they are completely wrong...

I nearly bottled out of the journey onto the moors when it started to snow again - and when I saw two lorries stranded on the road ahead I stopped and went for a quick walk. The wind was so strong it detached the hood from my coat - fortunately it snagged on the fence but my fingers were too numb to clip it back on. It was absolutely bloody freezing and alternating between very pretty and very bleak. If you view the pic large it looks better - I have added a couple of extras too. 

Off to see the Churchill film tonight - I have heard only good things about it. 

Thanks to steveng for hosting Wide Wednesday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.