Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

HawkQuest

I really thought I'd be blipping something more "Western" from my visit to the stock show yesterday but it was too hard to resist this beautiful Bald Eagle.  But I did include an extra of Becky on a bucking bronco. ;-)

HawkQuest is an organization for education, appreciation, conservation and preservation of Birds of Prey.  They had a booth at the show where we spent quite a while visiting this eagle, a Harris Hawk and a Great Horned Owl.  Even though I see eagles frequently, and from not too far away, I'm always amazed at their size when seen like this!

We had a wonderful day browsing vendors, seeing lots of livestock and eating junk food.  We got over 11,000 steps in, glad I wore my comfortable shoes!  The highlight was the evening show, "Extreme Dogs".  Dogs of many different breeds (but mostly Border Collies) participated in agility demonstrations, sheep herding, relay races through obstacles, frisbee catching, and dancing.  It was wonderful.  I took a few pictures but I could see that they weren't going to turn out very well so I gave up and just enjoyed the show. :-)

I am grateful for the wonderful day that I spent with my daughter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.