Caramacs & Monkey Socks

By AmyW

Twilight at the Canal...

...is not as exotic sounding as midnight at the oasis, but it's the best I could manage today!
Trying to get to college yesterday was a total nightmare. On my half hour walk waddle there, I didn't come across a single pavement that had been gritted, and as the ground had been damp the night before, everywhere was like an ice rink. It wasn't just the pavements either - my road and several others I passed were completely lethal too. I had to walk in the roads (the less icy ones) most of the way there, so I was very thankful that they're quieter on weekend mornings! By the time I came home some of the ice had melted, but there were still quite a lot of frozen patches this morning...and then we had snow this afternoon, turning everything into a slippery, slushy death slide!  Woohoo! My idea of fun! Not.
So here's the canal tonight, frozen over again and with a snowy topping! There's a community canal clean up planned for next weekend (further along the canal) to get rid a lot of the debris that built up the last time the canal froze - let's hope it doesn't freeze again in the next few days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.