Fliss Fraser

By stripeyhat

Venison

Not an amazing picture and I thought colour looked a bit scary.
So for the last few years I have bought a couple of deer to butcher for the freezer, mostly for guests as I do dinner, B&B. Just have two rooms so usually no more than four guests.
I'm not the best at butchering so get help from a couple of friends who know their rump from their fillet. We have a communal über mincer which gets through the toughest bits of flank, so there's litle waste.
When I moved here I was vegetarian and had been vegan for several years before that and it took another several years before I turned to the dark side and started eating venison.As meat goes it's lean and the deer here are wild. I eat less of it now and would rather do more meat free meals for the B&B buy think I'd lose some trade or have grumpy guests.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.