Three in a row

Another sad day today for my family.

A very close friend of ours passed away.
His name was Neil, in his 80’s.

My poor Dad has had three friends pass away over the last two months.
All of them are connected to our past living in the Coromandel area from the 1960s until now.
Fifty years ago my parents went off on a 8 week trip to Europe.
They left my brothers and I , aged 2,4 and 6, with three different families.
Quite a thing really, to leave your young children!
My brother Neill stayed with the Davies family , and Neil ( same names spelled differently) became his second father right up until he passed away today. It was like my brother had a second family, and for older Neil my brother was the son he never had. He had two daughters who are my brothers best friends still.

So I am feeling for my brother today. And also for my Dad who has lost three good friends in such a short space.

My Grandmother always said that deaths come in three’s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.