HarrythePotter

By HarrythePotter

Bird Life

A murmuration is a flock of Starlings according to the Oxford English Dictionary and currently there is one each evening right here in Winchester, it is an utterly amazing spectacle.

This evening, as a suggestion from RF, I went to watch and, with a backdrop of clear skies, had an fantastic show.

The birds roost in a tree at the rear of the fire station, not their tree of choice because, on Tuesday this week, Winchester City Council and Hampshire Fire and Rescue took it upon themselves to fell the tree they have been using citing health and safety and public nuisance as suitable reasons. Obviously I can't express my thoughts about those organisations in the words I want to use on this medium.

It has been a day of bird observations, whilst at work, I saw a Sparrowhawk flying over the field at the rear of a customer's, it then folded its wings and stooped into the neighbors garden, obviously hunting another bird. I didn't see the catch, it was behind a high wall. I also saw a Bulfinch which, before starting as a gardener, I thought were rare but have discovered are just elusive, I hear them almost everyday but rarely see them.

Also had a lovely meal this evening, thank you to you know who.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.