FarmerGirl

By FarmerGirl

Going to get Silage

I took this photo this morning of Farmerboy in his tractor, going to collect his feed out wagon, to fill it up with silage. He will then feed it out in a paddock for the cows to go in after they have been milked this afternoon.

As you have probably guessed from the photo, it is another wet, cool day here. At times there is also a gusty wind, which makes the air temperature that much cooler.

As I was walking back from taking this picture, I went to walk through a puddle so I could go through a gate. I thought the puddle was shallow, but not so. As soon as I stepped into it, I started sinking, and the water went over my gumboots - not just one, but two, so had to walk home with soaking wet feet, wet socks, jeans and overalls. My gumboots are now in front of the fire drying out.

The ground is just so saturated. We have had 175mls of rain so far this month; that is a lot more than we would normally get for October. One day the sun WILL come out!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.