Hirundography

By Hirundo

In Memoriam | Edna & Ken

While down in Bristol with F for a few days, I went on the train to my late Aunt Edna's funeral in Bournemouth. Ninety-three years young, she'd been as close as a sister to my mum when they grew up in Sheffield.

Edna married her childhood sweetheart, Ken, after he was demobbed from the RAF after WW2. They settled in their home-town (Ken worked in the steel industry as an engineer) and frequently when I went with my mum and dad to visit relatives in Sheffield, I'd play with my cousin H.

My great-aunt, Auntie Chrissie lived with them and when she died, they decided to up sticks and move to the south coast in Christchurch near Bournemouth. At the funeral there were many family anecdotes of the adventures they had, travelling all over in a battered VW camper van.

Any way, good to catch up with folk I'd not seen for years. I had a bit of time to spare before the funeral so, what to do but head down to the sea?

"H, you're in yer best keks and new booits, don't go riving round on beaches or piers and stuff..."

I'm always [extra] careful to do as I'm told... ;)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.