Chrismate

By Chrismate

The Dwarf & the Giant

This is the story of the Golden Dwarf and of the Glass Giant.
A Thai dwarf lived in a beautiful temple. As he had spent a few years of meditation in the Himalayas, he had a Tibetan tower built next to his abode. But the city grew year after year. One day, a defying Giant came and told the dwarf: "I am taller than you and I will build my house on the other side of the canal. I will have a tower higher than yours to show the world I am above anything that exists all around. And my palace will be made of glass because it will reflect the light from the sky." The dwarf did not respond to the giant. Instead, he kept praying to his Buddha simply wishing that the shadow of the Glass Giant may not darken his heart. The Sun heard his modest desire and said: "Your heart will remain the brightest because it is made of gold. Everyday, for a brief period of time, I will send my shining rays onto your temple. The World will know that all that glitters is not gold."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.