Where lonely larches lean

Thank you for all the wonderfulness shown to yesterday's moment at The Rigg.

I know I said today would be the rest day in my 3 day cycle, but it was sooooooo glorious that a change of plan was required. I opted to go further, but on mostly farm track or pasture. All told with some errands later in the day in town today has been 12,000 steps, my biggest day since the op.

Pooch seemed equally keen, so a blast from the past beckoned and we headed up to visit our favourite local tree atop the Knott. The ground and the track were much nicer than this image implies, both pooch and I stayed well away from the karst.
These trees hold a fascination for me that has lasted two decades. They simply are of their surroundings, sheltered by it, shaped by it and now a defining part of it.
The fruit of the larch is valuable to a host of wildlife and the grikes offer a wonderful secure place for a dropped seed to develop. Larch trees grow fast and they're supple, combined with being a conifer that loses it needles and is thus able to weather the wild winds these tops often experience, they're suited to here like only a few others. I'm never quite sure how this fellow and the solitary distant cousins who rise from the shining stones have avoided the sheep, but now they endure, a welcome moment of shelter to the occasional passer by, a place to pause for a man and his dog.
It's been many many a moon since pooch and I ventured up to visit, but today we took our time, and then sat, heads bowed in that tree sculpting wind.

Philosophy Friday

It ain't what you do it's the way that you do it
It ain't what you do it's the time that you do it
It ain't what you do it's the place that you do it
And that's what gets results

Sy Oliver & James Young
Though I suspect most of us are more familiar with The Fun Boy Three and Bananarama

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.