Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Talisman

A gentle mist covered the common today, nothing worth a blip as it came over a little featureless. I stood watching as the folds of moisture softly danced among the dying silhouettes of ground shrub. Ghostly forms twisting and turning, writhing, moved by the silent wind. Something was rustling amongst the leaves all piled up at the base of a tree and a dark as night Raven squawked, a horrible sound, ugly and brutish. As winged things flew low around the edge of my vision, glimpsed but not seen, apparitions in monochrome, I thought upon the ghost stories of my youth.

When visiting my family on the farm ghost stories,tales of fantasy and grim adventure were always told at this time of year.....little wonder really. The season lends itself, in the dips and hollows heavy mist roiled around phantasmic fallen trees, demons abounded every tangled bramble corner. Here....among the lonely hedgerows, my imagination exploded. Scaring myself half silly and fighting the monsters of heart and mind I would run wild. In a gripped fist and a strong arm I held out my little penknife, daring the massed hoards of nightmares to approach if they dare. With a long stick (my magical wizards staff!) and my trusty blade, battles would rage, demons were vanquished and perilous journeys undertaken.
As the nights drew in and the shadows grew, darkness crept along the lanes and gave horror to my play, my trusty talismans shone out!

From youths playground to the life of adulthood I have had many talismans. Things that I have placed magical faith in to get me home safely. I have offered prayers (I still do whenever I climb/walk mountains) to the universe to take care of my little soul in this adventure. So play grounds change......but the game remains, fighting demons, perilous journeys, adventure and wonder all held in my my little boys heart. The talismans are more elaborate and considered.....but when the season of ghosts comes............

:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.